See All Topics

Adult Student/Non-Traditional/Transfer Advice GSU to UNC Chapel Hill

• Kelley
  • Very Hot Topic 
    1 Replies 208 Views

Question about "Holistic Review" and being a Non-Traditional Student:
I'm an adult, back in college at 30 years old. I worked in the medical field as a Registered Medical Assistant in Pain Management, Orthopedic Spine Surgery and Rheumatology. I also briefly taught medical assisting at a local technical college before deciding it was time to go back to college myself. My cumulative work experience is exactly a decade. I'm registered with American Medical Technologists (since 2009) but I only have a certificate level of education. Hence, why I'm in college now going for a Biology degree. I have been told by a professor of mine that I should look into Biology research.

To what degree do college admissions value previous job experience as an 'extra curricular' in the admissions process?

I'm at Ga State/Perimeter. Ga State just bought out GPC, the two year college and as a result most extracurriculars have disappeared at all campuses except for the Ga State Downtown campus which is miles away and at an unrealistic distance from Alpharetta campuses. I'm worried about my ability to transfer out to a place like UNC Chapel Hill because of the minimal student activities and lack of local access to extracurriculars to build my application with at GSU/Perimeter right now. Other students are getting worried about the same thing...I'm hoping that my decade long career will at least help supplement what I might lack in extracurricular activities. I will be joining the STEM club, but other than that the Health Sciences Club is no more. The only active local club is Student Government. The Athletics department is even gone, now.