3118 Views     2002 Upvotes    7 Minutes Read    1403 Words 
 Upvote Go Back #Admission-Process #Extracurriculars #Ivy-League #Yale #Premed
 Mentee:
! I'm applying to college this fall and I wanted some advice. :) I plan to apply to mostly safeties, but also a few reaches (like Yale) to see what happens. There's nothing I can do about my extracurriculars, now. So, I'm praying they are good enough to be considered. They aren't unique...but I think they embody who I am (religious leadership, camp counselor, hospital volunteer, babysitter for siblings, math tutor, a buddy for special ed students, track). I'm also an aspiring doctor, but I want to do something in pediatrics, possibly neonatology or ob/gyn. Although, orthopedics is awesome, I must say! Really, I want advice on my essays... Here's the basis of my common app essay: So I was sitting in a cyber forensics detective's office. There's paintings of Yoda, Darth Vader, Chewbacca (seriously, you name it) dressed in nineteenth century attire everywhere...I was actually dying a little on the inside...My mom sent me to go get my sister from outside. I found her crouched over, sobbing uncontrollably. I cried at the sight. My sister had just realized that her abusive ex-boyfriend didn't love her and probably never did. And I had just witnessed my sister show human emotion for the first time in months. This happened in March. I left school to go help my sister with her civil court trial (to get a restraining order on her ex). I went with her everywhere: her attorney's office, the police, the cyber detective, and the 3 hour trial. I was fatigued and stressed, but I learned so much about the effects of manipulation, the legal system, and the strength I never knew I had. It's an important story for me. I know I need to start with some sort of hook and I thought that peculiar setting in the office would be something... But I realize that I need to focus as much as possible on the impact on me and my own growth. What do you t